Dr. Bahnsen on Attending Seminary

Posted: October 22, 2014 in General Presup Issues
Tags: ,

“All things being equal, I would not encourage anyone to attend seminary right now. Most seminaries are either very poor academically or theologically unhelpful. It would be a dreadful waste of three years and a lot of money – not to be taught the Reformed faith in an adequate way. In the smaller schools, there are problems with deficiencies in scholarship or theological prejudices, and that has not been characteristic of our Reformed fathers or Reformed education. Having said that, I realize and acknowledge that there are better and worse schools.”

I hate to admit it, but I’m afraid things haven’t improved since Dr. Bahnsen admitted this during a Contra Mundum interview.

Comments
  1. I don’t know, I’ve been pretty satisfied with my education at RTS thus far!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aaron Dale says:

      Yeah – if i ever go to a seminary, it will probably be RTS.

      I’d love to question James Anderson about paradox and other topics. Also, maybe I could slip a class or two in with John Frame before he retires?

      Like

Commenting Presupposes Christianity...

